"Hey, let's go to the club" is a phrase that has been heard many hundreds of thousands of times in the Jamestown community over the past 75 years.
It's a theme being celebrated throughout 2014 as the Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys and Girls Club of Jamestown officially marks the 75th anniversary of the founding of the Jamestown Boys Club through the efforts of the Jamestown Rotary Club.
A banner with the 75th anniversary slogan, "75 Years Building Futures!" has been installed above the pillars of the main entry to the 62 Allen St. facility with the assistance of a bucket truck and operator provided by Ahlstrom-Schaeffer Electric Co.
Pictured are Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys and Girls Club members, alumni and staff with a 75th anniversary banner.
Prior to hanging the banner a large group of Boys and Girls Club youth members, staff, board members and alumni association members gathered in the club lobby for a photo.
Also being commemorated during the year-long celebration are the rich history and positive impact of the Jamestown Girls Club, founded in 1947 through the efforts of the Jamestown Zonta Club.
In 1986 the Jamestown Boys Club and the Jamestown Girls Club merged facilities, programming, resources, staff, boards and youth to form the Jamestown Boys and Girls Club.
The organization and facility were re-dedicated in 2004 as the Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys and Girls Club of Jamestown, in honor of Mrs. Dibert's 103rd birthday and in recognition of her lifetime of dedication to, as she often fondly stated, "her kids."
Throughout 2014, current club youth members are taking part in monthly 75th anniversary special events and activities. A summer picnic will be hosted by the Alumni Association and a reception open to the entire community will be held this fall.